Skip Navigation




Lowcountry Area Transportation Study (LATS)

metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)


MPO Overview

Image: LATS MPO Area Map

The Hilton Head Island/Bluffton urbanized area population was recorded by the 2010 Census as 68,998 residents, and is now classified as a “Small Urban Area".  Federal regulations require the formation of a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) to “provide continuous, cooperative, and comprehensive transportation planning” for areas with urbanized populations of 50,000 or more.  The Lowcountry Area Transportation Study (LATS) was established in 2013 as the MPO responsible. As well as the relevant unincorporated areas of Beaufort and Jasper counties, LATS includes the municipalities of Beaufort, Bluffton, Hardeeville, Hilton Head Island and Port Royal and is the first new MPO established in South Carolina in more than 20 years.  The planning area comprises the land currently designated as urban by the most recent US Census and also land expected to be designated as urban within the next 20 years.
MPO Plans

LATS administers the planning process that determines how the area’s federal transportation dollars will be spent. These funds cover improvements for all elements of the transportation network, including roads and streets, bridges, public transit and bicycle and pedestrian facilities. This process promotes the development of a safe, effective, efficient and environmentally sensitive multi‐modal transportation system for moving people and goods in the LATS area.

The MPO is responsible for three major plans:

• The Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) will identify current and future transportation needs and provide multi-modal strategies and projects to address these needs. Federal funding cannot be allocated to transportation projects unless they are  on the LRTP project list. The projects will be fiscally constrained, meaning that the MPO cannot spend more money than it expects to receive. The planning process for the 2040 LATS LRTP is underway and is slated for completion by the end of 2014, and will be updated every five years.
• The Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) details all projects and programs to be Federally-funded. These projects and programs will result from the LRTP. The TIP covers a period of five years but is updated annually. The initial TIP for the LATS MPO will be developed following completion of the 2040 LATS LRTP.
• The Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) outlines LATS MPO transportation planning activities that use funds provided by federal and state transportation agencies and local MPO contributions. UPWPs are adopted prior to each fiscal year.


LATS Policy Committee:

  • David Bennett, Mayor, Town of Hilton Head Island
  • David Blauch, LRTA Board Chairman
  • Bronco Bostick, Mayor, City of Hardeeville
  • Barbara Clark, Chairman, Jasper County Council
  • Tom Davis, State Senator-District 46
  • Samuel B. Glover, SCDOT Commissioner District 6
  • William G. Herbkersman, State Representatative-District 118
  • Billy Keyserling, Mayor, City of Beaufort
  • Samuel E. Murray, Mayor, Town of Port Royal
  • G. Clifton Parker, SCDOT At-Large Commissioner
  • Jim Rozier, SCDOT Commissioner-District 1
  • D. Paul Sommerville, Chairman,
    Beaufort County Council
  • Lisa B. Sulka, Mayor, Town of Bluffton


Meeting Agendas:
April 10, 2015
January 9, 2015

June 27, 2014
January 24, 2014
October 4, 2013
April 5, 2013
February 11, 2013

Meeting Minutes:

January 9, 2015
June 27, 2014
January 24, 2014
October 4, 2013
April 5, 2013
February 11, 2013 

Public Participation Plan

Contact Information:

Find Us On Facebook




Phone: 843-726-5536 | Fax: 843-726-5165